Understanding The Difference Between A Wheat-Free and Gluten-Free Diet

heat-Free and Gluten-Free Diet

With products such as wheat free flour we come across the term “gluten-free” many times; be it in the market or advertisements. Many people can suffer from celiac disease and gluten sensitivities. However, many people use the term wheat-free and gluten-free interchangeably, which is entirely wrong. When the two terms get mixed up, it adds on to the confusion which could end up leading to major health problems.

Gluten-Free Diet – What Is It?

Sensitivity to gluten is quite different from a true gluten allergy, which is scientifically called celiac disease. People who are sensitive to this specific type of protein will experience various uncomfortable symptoms that resemble symptoms closely associated with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS). Some of them include –

  • Constipation
  • Diarrhoea
  • Gas
  • Brain fog

Skin conditions like rashes may also accompany these symptoms. At times, these symptoms may take about 36 hours to become visible. People having a full-blown immune reaction when in contact with gluten are likely to suffer from celiac disease. This may include symptoms like extreme weight loss, irritability, fatigue, vomiting, diarrhoea, sudden cramping and severe digestive symptoms.

Gluten is a sticky protein that is found in various pastries, muffins and bread. It is also available in many other foods such as certain beverages, processed meats, sushi, condiments and many more. People who have been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease should avoid consuming foods that contain this protein. Gluten-free flour is one of the more popular choices is foods that people can choose to consume, which is different from the wheat free flour variants available in the market. As gluten can be found in most of the packaged, boxed and processed types of foods, it is essential to avoid these types of products.

Wheat-Free Diet – What Is It?

Apart from gluten-free foods, it is essential to differentiate these foods from the wheat-free types. These are merely the types of foods that do not contain wheat. They necessarily do not have to be gluten-free. There are many people who are sensitive or allergic to wheat but they may not have trouble with digesting gluten. Because of this reason, foods are processed in different ways.

People who have such an allergy must avoid products that contain this element. The smallest quantities could also result in severe allergic reactions within a matter of minutes. Some of the symptoms associated with the allergic reaction are –

  • Swelling
  • Itching
  • Sneezing
  • Anaphylaxis

They may also be accompanied by digestive symptoms that last for several days. Because of this reason, these people are recommended to add wheat free flour to their diets. Sensitivity to wheat could result in –

  • Bowel irregularities
  • Bloating
  • Brain fog
  • Skin conditions, such as acne

Many grains do not have this food. Some of them are oats, Kamut, spelt, millet, rye and barley. There are many options like wild rice, brown rice and quinoa that are both wheat and gluten free. People with a sensitivity to both can try these out.

The bottom line is that both the variants may seem the same in many ways, but there are specific differences that separate the two. People with certain medical conditions must keep these factors in mind before selecting food items such as wheat free flour in their diet.

Related posts

Leave a Comment